Tags

,

Have you ever noticed the verbs in Psalm 23? Most are things God does, and nearly all are ACTIVE verbs!

Read slowly, notice the verbs. God is actively involved in our lives; how easy to respond to Him! (formatting and emphasis are mine)

Psalm 23

1 The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
2
He makes me lie down in green pastures.

He leads me beside still waters.
3 He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousnessfor his name’s sake.
4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff, they comfort me.
5
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil
.
6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Only two “passive” verbs in the entire Psalm, and they are about God. He IS my shepherd, you ARE with me. I think I’ll “accept” that there’s no movement on those, no change, no reason to wonder if He’s still the same!

The others are “active” verbs; God is at work and involved on our behalf.

Take a minute and re-read the Psalm, taking a moment to let the meaning of those words soak in like a gentle all-day rain.

My response is the same as David’s – at least it should be –
I will not want, I will fear no evil, I will dwell with Him.

How encouraging. How reaffirming!

No wonder we call Him “The Good Shepherd” (see John 10 for more)

