Tags

, , , ,

Sometimes I look at all that’s going on around me and wonder: WHAT is goin’ on ?

I’m one of those Type-A people you read about. Maybe not a perfect match (I don’t bulldoze people) but close enough.  I believe in setting benchmarks and goals, then working hard to those ends.  Preparation is important and time is a resource we dare not squander.  Progress is key and I welcome the changes that come with progress.  It means we’re getting closer to those goals and objectives. Money comes in handy too, but time’s slightly more important, even than money – at least in my game plan. Maybe it’s because I grew up having more time than money.  Or because so much of what I do utilizes time and skills people volunteer to service and ministry endeavors.

Several years ago I noticed something; maybe it’s true of all of us Type-A’s, I don’t know.  A major setback, crises or breakdown doesn’t  ruin my day, sometimes one of those can actually galvanize my resolve.  Urge me forward.  Draw on determination’s reserves.   But pile on forty or fifty little things, each with their own sense of urgency, and I’m at risk.  I gotta wonder — why is that?

I have a motivational sign in my files that goes like this:

All you can handle

+

One more thing

+

God’s enablement

__________________

Patience

I’ve said to the Lord, tongue in cheek,  “God, I’m sorry I asked for patience when I was a teenager.  Can I take that one back?”   He and I both know that the patience He’s granted and developed over the years is valuable to me now, but sometimes I wonder: What are You working on now, Lord?   Don’t let me miss it, whatever it is.

Maybe it’s time for a new sign:

All you can handle

+

One more thing

+

God’s enablement

__________________

Reasons to PRAY

