Tags

, , , , , , ,

I read this morning from Isaiah 55. The insight thoughts I read on this chapter included these words:

Coming to the Lord costs a man nothing and, at the same time, costs him everything.
The offer is free in that a man need not give anything in exchange for his salvation. “Everyone who thirsts, come to the waters; and you who have no money, come, buy and eat. Yes, come, buy wine and milk without money and without price” (v. 1).
Yet receiving salvation costs man his life. He no longer has the freedom of self-determination. “Seek the Lord while He may be found . . . Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts; let him return to the Lord, and He will have mercy on him” (vv. 6-7).
All that it costs is what everyone can give: one’s self.

There are places in life where two seemingly contradicting concepts remain true. I don’t have to understand them, to grasp them could lower God’s reasoning to humanly comprehensible, and I don’t need to do that. God will always be God and His thoughts are far above mine.  This is one I don’t understand yet I’m glad it’s true!

Salvation is free.   Whosever will, may come.
You are not your own, you are bought with a price.
It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives through me.

Similarly, He said:

Take up your cross and follow me.

Come unto Me, all who are weak and heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

Lose your life to find it.

Die to live.

Yesterday in church we sang:

Lord, I give you myheart,
I give you my soul.
I live for You alone.
Every breath that I take,
every moment I’m awake,
Lord have your way in me.

Surrender.   Yet complete freedom.
Strength made perfect in weakness (mine).

I love those wonderful contrastive, complementary truths of the faith, don’t you?

phil.JPG

