Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve been playing on the piano here at our house an old song written by Gordon Jensen, “Tears Are A Language God Understands”.

I have in my home a daily calendar called “The Grace of Encouragement” by Charles Swindoll.    I’ve used this calendar for over 10 years now, and love the quotes and the verses it presents day after day for me to think about.

Today’s quote:  “I wonder how many tear bottles in heaven bear your initials.  You’ll never have many until you let go and let a little tenderness run loose.”

Today’s verse:  “Record my lament, list my tears on your scroll, are they not in your record?”   Psalm 56:8 (NIV)

There were times when my feelings were hurt as a child and I cried; there were other times when an adult friend was hurting and I cried as I hugged them and let them cry.  The time I cried the hardest and the longest was when it finally hit me that it was my Dad we were talking about, my Dad who had the inoperable brain tumor, and my Dad who only had 3-4 months left to live.  I went to my husband’s outstretched arms and he held me and just let me cry.  We cried as a family the night my Dad stepped inside the pearly gates.  My brother read Psalm 23 and there was not a dry eye in the room. 

No matter what you are going through today, God understands, and He understands your tears.  When you’ve cried for a while, wipe the tears away and say to yourself, “Although what I’m going through right now is very painful, I know I still serve a God who makes no mistakes!”  And believe it!  🙂

And remember Lamentations 3:22-24 (NIV)

“Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.  I say to myself, “The LORD is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”

