Tags

, , ,

Last week as I prepared to launch into 1 Peter, our new study in “Joint Heirs” life group,  feelings kept washing over me,  I’m not qualified to teach this – I’m not worthy. But Sunday was coming so I kept studying, reading up on 1 Peter’s background and place in history.

With a brief birds-eye-view in place I read through the passage we’ll be discussing next week.   God solved my dilemma and encouraged me with what I found there,  and I just had to pull those three verses into  our Introduction and hit them a week “early”.  The class caught where I was going with it and the discussion was GOOD –  really good!

All honor to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, for
it is by His boundless mercy that
God has given us the privilege of being born again.

Now we live with a wonderful expectation
because Jesus Christ rose again from the dead.

[4] For God has reserved a priceless inheritance for his children.
(when was the last time you heard of someone earning an inheritance?)
It is kept in heaven for you, pure and undefiled, beyond the reach of change and decay.
[5] And God, in His mighty power, will protect you until you receive this salvation, because
you … are trusting him.
It will be revealed on the last day for all to see.

1 Peter 1:3-5
(emphasis mine)

It ain’t me     –    It’s Him.

Never has been     –        Always was

My job?  Forget me, and trust Him. Paul knew that.  It may be why he told his readers in Philippi (and us) to worship in the Spirit of God and Glory in Christ Jesus and put no confidence in the flesh.  (Phil. 3.3b)  Paul had reason to, if anyone did, and he knew it wasn’t him – it was God.  I think I’ll follow his lead.  How ’bout you?

