Tags

, , , ,

It wasn’t a presumptuous move, was it? Tonight I filled one of my fountain pens again – an expression of hope perhaps – or maybe faith – or the return of something I love – maybe all of the above.

I used to write with a fountain pen every day. F.B. Meyer kept a pen on his desk that refused to be filled as a spiritual reminder. I bought a similar pen 20 years ago, but fixed it some years later and it became my favorite. It’s been the only active one; all the others I cleaned and set aside several months ago. I didn’t want to lose one in my travels or damage one on the job.

Ink flows freely from a fountain pen, as fast as I can think. A fountain pen feels elegant in my hand. There’s a link to family and dear friends, depending on which pen I hold. It seems I think loftier, higher thoughts with a good pen in hand. Strange, I know, but it seems so.

So I’m hoping the ink flows again in this next season. I’m believing -I’m asking- God to open the doors to full-time ministry again. And not to just open them, but to THROW them open ! He says in His Word that when we delight ourselves in Him He gives us the desires of our hearts (Psalm 37). I’m taking Him at His word.

____________

Don’t fret … trust in the Lord and do good. [Check]
Dwell in the land and cultivate faithfulness. [Check]
Delight yourself in the Lord (which I am) and He will give you the desires of your heart. [Yess!]
Commit your way to the LORD, trust also in Him. [Check]
and He will do it. [Yes! Amen]
And He will bring forth your righteousness as the light and your judgment as the noonday. [Christ’s actually, I have none but His. And noon is pretty bright!]
Rest in the Lord [Check]
and wait patiently for Him. [Check.]

v 25
I have been young and am now old; yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken or His descendants begging bread.

____________

Father ~
God ~
Abba ~

Would you open the door for me to serve You again full-time? Would you supply abundantly for my -for our- obligations? Would you let me write things that encourage Your people and edify the church at large? Not for my name’s sake, but for Yours (Ps. 143.11a).  Draw attention to Yourself (be glorified) in my life.

Thank You!

..

James 1.5-8

(This is a copy of last night’s journal entry, a glimpse of what’s going on deep inside. The original was written with the Schaeffer fountain pen that was my dad’s.)

