Tags

…firmly rooted

…being built up in Him

…established in your faith

…overflowing with gratitude.

(from Col. 2.7)

Last week “blessed1” challenged us to list for for seven straight days the things we’re thankful for and post our lists out in the open where others can look in and read.

I smiled to myself, because gratitude flows freely through my pen. I’m glad for that; it’s not always been so. I remember one of the guys in my house-turned-dorm in Grand Rapids, Krag Johnson, had a way of thanking God for things we often overlook; little things we’d sorely miss if God said “No one’s noticing, let’s not do that any more.”

I began connecting life’s detail with a steady flow of gratitude and it unlatched a whole new venue in prayer for me. Frequent God-sightings, large and small, make it easy. But the world we live in is anything but grateful, especially if you spend a lot of time watching the news. So this will be good for those of us who participate:

  • I’m thankful today for forgiveness. For salvation. Peter’s probably tired of me hanging around, looking over his shoulder, borrowing his glasses all week, but I am. I’m thankful for forgiveness and Christ’s life in me. Being immersed in it all last week, it’s the first thing that comes to mind.
  • I’m thankful for a heart, eyelids and swallower that do their jobs without my constantly telling them to.
  • I’m thankful the Lord nudged me this morning when my alarm didn’t go off -“Better get goin’ Mister, it’s Monday and you’ve work to do”.
  • Thanks, Lord, for the changing of the seasons. When I remember that Christ Jesus is the sustainer of all, my appreciation for the Triune God’s attention to detail comes right to the surface.
  • I’m thankful for my family. My wife’s folks were here for the weekend, our daughter came over and cell phone technology put us in touch with our son. I’m in frequent contact with my Mom and sisters. You know … I’m glad the family was the first organization God put in place.
  • I’m thankful for music’s role in worship.
  • I’m thankful for skillful teaching of the Word in clear, understandable terms, reaching the inquirer, nurturing those new to the faith and challenging us lifers. (Thank you, Chip!)
  • I’m thankful for our neat old house – it turns 100 years old this year and is looking really good.
  • I’m thankful for cars that don’t complain.

…. that’s from Monday morning, a running list as I went about my duties. Naturally I’ll notice more this afternoon, and will whisper a silent “Thanks, God” for each; I don’t need to bore you with all of it though, you get the idea.

