Tags

, , , ,

It must be a blue moon. 

That’s how often I give myself permission to post sentimental, (my kids call them “sappy”) tender posts about my family.

Sorry, Jared, it’s your turn, man. The thoughts this morning started in a comment on another post and are extra rich. 

“Wow am I ever blessed!”  

-=-=-=-=-=-=-

 

We have two grown children, both walking with the Lord and intent on serving Him “with all your heart, soul, mind, strength.” 

Jared’s home for Spring Break this week, and I of course have been making sure the memory tape is rolling.  He’s an adult.  The growing, boyhood days are a memory, but I’ll be the first to tell you I loved the journey!  

I loved opening the door to his bright yellow room when he was little, seeing him standing at the end of his crib, smiling as he waited for one of us to come get him.  “Heyyy Sunshinnnne!” I loved picking him up and feeling his first hug of the day around my neck.

I loved the day we went for a walk around the lake at the park and he threw his pacifier over the side of the bridge “to a little fish who needs one” so he could move to his big-boy bed that night.

I loved hauling him back and forth to school, Dad-son moments in 10-15 minute increments.

I loved watching him try swimming, little league baseball, wrestling and track – and eventually deciding “I want to be in band.”

I loved guiding him as he picked his instrument. Drums? You’ve got “a good clock in your head”, no doubt – OK. Private lessons are a given. You will do this well.

I loved driving to Chicago to watch and hear the band march in the Thanksgiving Day parade, then whisking him away to drive six hours to Green Bay for Thanksgiving with the family.

I loved helping find his first drum set, his first guitar, his mandolin… opening doors for him as a musician and worship leader. 

I loved seeing him lock in on the college of his choice  and landing a percussion scholarship. Yess!

I loved gathering five key men in his life for a private ceremony welcoming him to manhood.  

I melted and wept at his being the first to forgive me when I fell flat on my face.

I love hearing him in concert, and remind myself when he forgets to write or call (completely immersed in university life) that I was the exact same way!

I’m loving having him home this week.

  • Newly 21, talking, dreaming about his future plans.
  • Helping him wordsmith some leadership documents he’s working on during break. 
  • Noticing his subtle grin when he got his taxes done before I did.
  • Talking on the way home from the symphony Saturday night, hearing him thank me for the way his mother and I raised him and his older sister.
  • Listening to the first movement of a woodwind quintet he’s writing – about the noble gasses no less! (Honest! It’s pretty!)
  • Today he’s back on his high-school campus, visiting with and observing his high school band director, another of the positive influencers in his life.

-=-=-=-=-=-=- 

Jared –  I loved being there on your journey to adulthood.   I look forward with hope and optimism to what God is going to do through you.

Love ya’!

Dad

-=-=-=-=-=-=- 

Friends, its true what they say. Every step, every phase has its bright spots if you keep watch for them. And they do go fast.  I’m so glad I listened when someone told me way back when to make sure the memory tape rolls every day and thank the Lord often for today. The memories are precious!

 

 

