Tags

, , ,

A year ago we prayerfully bought my current work car after I totalled my Celica in a snowstorm last January.  We bought low so we could do any needed repairs on our “new” car with 150,000 miles on it and not have to borrow at all. So far it’s it’s served me well.

This week we’ve been  (what’s the word?)   “blessed with?”  no… 

“overtaken by ?”  maybe…

This week we’ve been “subjected to”  (there it is)   sub-zero temps for several days in a row.  Ours is a single-car garage so my car sleeps outside. I have to leave the house early on Monday mornings and this week it was –13* at our place when I went to start the car.  Honest!  MINUS thirteen!  

Buuuut…  at the beginning of this February deep-freeze I tried out something I’d seen on the car and sure enough, it works.  It has an engine heater! All through this cold snap it’s been nice to be able to unplug my car, start it right away and smile to myself “The engine is already warm.  How nice,” then hustle back inside for a few more sips of coffee while the interior catches up.  

I was thinking this morning, God didn’t have to lead me to a car that already had an engine heater installed on it, but He did.  I’m thankful.  I’ve not added engine heaters to   my cars through the years, but after this week, I just might.  It’s a wise thing to do, especially Up Nort’ as we say.

When I keep my eyes open for things God does for me it deepens my gratitude and heightens my awareness of His ongoing work in my life.  

There really is no such thing as a coincidence; God loves His kids, is always at work, and He enjoys leaving subtle little flourishes behind that let us know “I’ve already been here”.

Where have you seen Him lately?  “God-sightings” they’re often called; I’d love to hear about one of yours!

Phil—

