Tags

, , , , ,

In manufacturing it’s serious business when a product slips below spec.
It might be a part coming in from a supplier that’s not within published tolerances.
It might be the result of process “drift”.
It might be anything.

Something goes awry somewhere, though and the end product doesn’t line up with the specifications for it. If the FDA notices, it’s a big deal. FAA too. Federal-anything, come to think of it.

Quality-conscious people notice when it happens and get excited (not the good way, either!)

  • Memos fly.
  • Meetings crowd their way onto already busy workday schedules.
  • The concern follows the conscientious home.
  • Problem-solving conversations spring up just about anywhere hoping to spark a solution.
  • Find the root cause.
  • Devise a way to correct the problem,
  • then a way to keep it from happening again. Ever.

It’s called CAPA
Corrective Action Preventive Action.
Or sometimes Corrective And Preventive Action.
Either way it’s serious business.

Living below God’s expressed standards is serious business too. If you’re wondering if He really has defined standards think again. I punched “you shall” into my PDA Bible just now, and it found 500 “you shall”s. I’m almost afraid to look!

I’m sure I can’t live up to His expectations, though. I’ve proven I can’t; so have you.
When I read through Galatians 5 and see the difference between two types of living and the warning in verse 21, and the directive in verse 25 “Keep in step with the Spirit” I’m inclined to write “YBH?” in the margin of my Bible. “Yes – but how?”

So what do I do for CAPA (corrective action / preventive action) as a Christian?

Come to Him
Jim Cymbala, pastor of the Brooklyn Tabernacle, wrote in “The Life God Blesses” that God blesses the one who runs to Him with his guilt, instead of away. SO true!
I can relax when I remember Jesus’ kind words to the woman in John 8.1-11. “I don’t condemn you either,” He said, “Go, and sin no more.” Whew! When I run from Him, though, when I try to hide from Him … dangerous way to live.

Acknowledge My Non-Compliance
1 John 1.9 says it well. When we confess, He’s faithful to forgive, and cleanse. The hard part is frequently acknowledging “You’re right – I’m wrong” and confessing sin as sin. It’s non-compliance, though, and more serious than if a governmental agency notices. If you’re still pretty sure you’re always in compliance, look at Romans 3.23. Notice the little world “all”. Pretty inclusive, wouldn’t you say?

Prayerfully Ask His Provision of Righteousness.
The apostle John (I think he must have been a soft-spoken gentleman) wrote “My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. (call it non-compliance) But if anybody does sin, we have one who speaks to the Father in our defense — Jesus Christ, the Righteous One.” (1 Jn.2.1-2) “Your life is now hidden with Christ in God” Paul wrote to his readers in Colosse (Col. 3.3). The key to “preventive” in the Christian life is to realize compliance is only through Him.  Thankfully it’s freely available!

Appropriate His Power – Not Mine.
Putting it to use. What confidence is mine when I know the righteousness isn’t! Mine, I mean. “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.” (Gal. 5.1) You mean, like, to sin?
Precisely!

CAPA for the Christian. How different from at the factory!
ThankYou, Father, for your wonderful provision – You obviously knew we weren’t up to the task, so you sent your Son in the likeness of men. To do it for us. We’re in debt to you — forever.

–PLR–

